The Hot Sh!t List

Some rights reserved by ALL CHROME
AttributionNoncommercialShare Alike Some rights reserved Photo by ALL CHROME

There is a lot of crazy young talent kicking around. We’ve seen that great talent that UW Velocity is producing with Ted Livingston(@ted_livingston) at Kik. There are the Christopher (@golda) and Michael (@michaelmontano) at BackType. There is the stupidly awesome team at Extreme Venture Partners (@avarma, @fnthawar, @sundeep).

I thought I’d throw together a quick list of designers, developers and entrepreneurs that are young, hot, kicking ass and taking names. There is an amazing amount of talent in Canada. And this is who I’m watching because they are hot sh!t.

  1. Dan McGrady (@dmix, LinkedIn), CareLogger
  2. Kaitlyn MacLachlan (LinkedIn), AskItOnline & Yellow Pages Group
  3. Casper Wong (@wongcasper, LinkedIn), CommunityLend
  4. Jennifer Fong-Adwent (@ednapiranhaLinkedIn), Rocketr
  5. Josh Davey (@joshdavey, LinkedIn), BurstN & Chango
  6. Alex Black (@waterlooalexjo, LinkedIn), SnapSort
  7. Cody Fauser (@codyfauser, LinkedIn), Shopify
  8. Vincent Cheung (@veenix, LinkedIn), ShapeCollage
  9. Wes Bos (@wesbos, LinkedIn), DealPage
  10. Michael Litt (@michaelrlitt, LinkedIn), Vidyard
  11. James Stewart (@JamesStewartUXD, LinkedIn), PostRank & TribeHR
  12. Julie Haché (@juliehache, LinkedIn), Shopify
  13. Duleepa “Dups” Wijayawardhana (@dupsLinkedIn), EmpireAvenue
  14. Joseph Fung (@josephfung, LinkedIn), TribeHR
  15. Andrew Peek (@drupeek, LinkedIn), Rocketr
  16. Simon Law (@sfllaw, LinkedIn), TrustCentric
  17. Eric Diep (@ediep, LinkedIn), A Thinking Ape
  18. James Blair (@jamesblair, LinkedIn)
  19. Edward Ocampo-Gooding (@edwardog, LinkedIn), Shopify
  20. Satish Kanwar (@skanwar, LinkedIn), Jet Cooper
  21. Jesse Miller (@jesse_miller, LinkedIn), Attachments.me
  22. Josh Merchant (@joshmerchant, LinkedIn), Lymbix
  23. Boris Chan (@borisc, LinkedIn), XtremeLabs
  24. Tyler Galpin (@TylerGalpin, LinkedIn)

This list is incomplete

I am completely aware that this list is incomplete. But who are the tastemakers that are building the next generation of emerging technology companies that no one knows about in Canada. Help me find great talents that are under 40 (this is irrelevant, who are the entrepreneurs, designers and developers that are shaping things) and based in Canada.

Hot Sh!t List Nomination

Canada is full of hot sh!t developers, designers and entrepreneurs. And we're trying to build a list of them. Tell us who you think should be on the list?
  • In less than 140 characters tell us, why this person is hot sh!t. What have they done for us lately. What are the major discoveries to this person has to show, or what are the serious growth numbers.
  • http://www.josephfung.ca Joseph Fung

    Love being included, but there are a couple of us on that list that are 30 right now, so the “under 30″ moniker may not apply :)

    ~ Joseph

  • Dan Morel

    I think @waterlooalex has grandkids 8-)

  • KaitlynMcLachlan

    So honored to have made this list! Thanks to David and everyone else both on and off the list who is doing such great work in the Toronto scene!

  • Paul

    The nomination form requires all fields to submit, which I don’t have, so here are my nominations:
    Dave Wilkin of Redwood Strategic (http://www.redwoodstrategic.com/)
    Eric Migicovsky of Allerta, Inc. (http://www.getinpulse.com/)
    Ray Cao and Aditya Shah of Loose Button (http://www.loosebutton.com/)

  • http://twitter.com/rubsun Rubsun Ho

    We’ll have a few people to nominate once we check their ID’s. Hot Shit List aside, I’m always impressed by how David is always able to find the perfect image to accompany his posts…..

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    Hi Paul,

    The only “required” fields are Name (First & Last) plus Email address. Everything else is optional.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

  • http://startupnorth.ca Jevon

    Love to see all the new faces too!

  • Sonia Ryan

    I nominate Alkarim Nasser – CEO, Harth Labs

  • http://twitter.com/alainwong Alain Wong

    My nominations:

    @gregisenberg with the upcoming launch of Wall Street Survivor. I’ve seen a preview, and it’s gonna be big! (http://wallstreetsurvivor.com/getv4/) or read the Next Montreal article (http://nextmontreal.com/wallstreetsurvivor/)

    @danielharan is also doing exciting stuff with Recoset (http://recoset.com/) plus his dancing & DJ’ing skills are coming along nicely!

  • http://www.vincentcheung.ca/ Vincent Cheung

    Thanks for the mention!

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    I hope you visit because of the image and stay for the content and community.

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    The age thing was really not meant to be their. Media is supposed to have a fascination with youth. It was really meant to be people that we haven’t seen before, i.e., new to me.

  • http://twitter.com/avarma avarma

    thanks for the mention, we (@avarma, @fnthawar, @sundeep) are old :( , we need the next generation. the list of 24 is amazing, let’s aim to make it 100!!

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    Just wait until you have kids or a heart attack if you want to feel old.

  • http://www.vidyard.com/ Michael Litt

    Glad to be included in this list. Major Kudos to everyone else (and those who still need nomination)!

  • http://twitter.com/mhp Mark Pavlidis

    or both

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    Having both is over-rated, skip the heart attack.

  • http://twitter.com/mhp Mark Pavlidis

    noted

  • http://davidcrow.ca/ davidcrow

    I actually heard you had sired many children, that is what the paternity tests that were mistakenly opened by our team at EVP said.

  • http://twitter.com/amandaleone Amanda Leone

    I would like to nominate Ameet Shah – Managing Partner, Business Development  at Five Mobile

  • Pingback: » Under the Hood – Chango | StartupNorth

  • Pingback: » Under the Hood – Lymbix | StartupNorth

  • Pingback: » Hot Sh!t 2012 Nominations | StartupNorth

  • Pingback: » We can’t all be founders | StartupNorth